A Malaysian National Curriculum offered by the Ministry of Education with Malay language as main language of instruction for learning. The curriculum is known as KBSM Revised (Kurikulum Bersepadu Sekolah Menengah Semakan) has replaced the old curriculum (KBSM) since 2003. Learners will follow the curriculum for three years from Form One to Form Three.

Before progressing to upper secondary level, Form Three learners will sit for the Form Three Assessment (Pentaksiran Tingkatan Tiga, PT3) that replaced the lower secondary assessment (PMR) since 2014. Written tests cover seven subjects including Malay Language, English, Science, Mathematics, Islamic Education, Living Skills and Chinese Language. History and Geography would be assessed via assignments, practical tests, projects, field study and case studies.

The aims of the lower secondary level education is to equip learners with a strong foundation of language, science knowledge, mathematics skills and other supporting subjects that are in line with the goals of the National philosophy of Education which seeks to optimise the intellectual, emotional and spiritual potential of learners.